The Pont Roman

Spanning the Ouvèze River, which has its source in the Baronnies Massif, the Pont Roman was rebuilt over the centuries in order to resist the various floods it has suffered.

Pont romanPont de l'Ouvèze, BédarridesPont de l'Ouvèze, Bédarrides

A bit of history...

 

Formerly, in Roman Empire a bridge was built a little further downstream from the one existing today, but it was taken away by a flood in 1620.

It was then decided to build a wooden bridge, but a new flood inflicted big damage on the bridge on August 24, 1622, and took away an arch: this made the structure completely unusable.

So, a cable ferry on the Ouvèze and another on the Sorgue to connect the two banks were installed.

Insufficient for the inhabitants, the construction of a stone bridge was undertaken by two masons from Avignon: A. Jaccoto and Louis Rochas in 1640. The work was completed in 1647.

 

Centuries later, a stone cross was added to the bridge in 1713 as a result of a religious mission.

 

 

Nowadays...

An emblematic monument of the city of Bédarrides, the place was built a few years ago with picnic tables, and a beautiful direct view of the bridge.

 

The Confluence Garden was also created, with chairs and benches to be able to fully enjoy a moment by the river with a beautiful view of the confluence of the rivers.

 

 

 

Location

Informations

< Informations

Order our free brochure

Discover our editions of the Porte du Ventoux to prepare your weekend and holidays: guide, accommodation, hiking...

OrderDownload

Newsletter

Last minute, agenda, event, video, subscribe to our Super newsletter!

Subscribe